PUBLIC RELATIONS AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT SUB (POLICY & RESOURCES) COMMITTEE

<u>Thursday, 19 May 2016</u>

Minutes of the meeting of the Public Relations and Economic Development Sub (Policy & Resources) Committee held at the Guildhall EC2 at 2:50pm

Present

Members:

Mark Boleat (Chairman) Deputy Catherine McGuinness (Deputy Chairman) Deputy Douglas Barrow Wendy Hyde Stuart Fraser

Edward Lord Jeremy Mayhew Tom Sleigh Alderman Sir David Wootton

Officers:

Officers.		
John Barradell	-	Town Clerk and Chief Executive
Alistair MacLellan	-	Town Clerk's Department
Bob Roberts	-	Director of Communications
Simon Murrells	-	Assistant Town Clerk
Damian Nussbaum	-	Director of Economic Development
Angela Roach	-	Town Clerk's Department

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were received from Sir Michael Snyder.

2. MEMBERS' DECLARATIONS UNDER THE CODE OF CONDUCT IN RESPECT OF ITEMS ON THE AGENDA

There were no declarations of interest.

3. TERMS OF REFERENCE

The Terms of Reference of the Sub Committee were received.

Members took the opportunity to discuss the possibility of the terms of reference being amended to include the co-option of external members, provision for which had been agreed by the Grand Committee. The Chairman agreed to review the comments made outside of the meeting and bring a proposal back to a future meeting.

4. MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting held on 18 February were approved as a correct record.

5. APPOINTMENT OF CO-OPTED MEMBERS

The Town Clerk was heard regarding the co-option of four Members onto the Sub Committee from the Court of Common Council. The Chairman noted that there were eleven candidates for the four vacancies. In response, Members agreed to conduct a ballot process in line with the principle described in Standing Order 30, to ensure the successful candidates had the largest possible mandate from their colleagues on the Sub Committee.

Two ballots were conducted. On the first ballot, Alderman Peter Estlin and Keith Bottomley were declared successful and co-opted. On the second ballot, Anne Fairweather and Lucy Frew were declared successful and co-opted.

RESOLVED, that Members co-opt Alderman Peter Estlin, Keith Bottomley, Anne Fairweather and Lucy Frew onto the Public Relations and Economic Development Sub (Policy and Resources) Committee for the year 2016/17.

6. QUESTIONS ON MATTERS RELATING TO THE WORK OF THE SUB-COMMITTEE

There were no questions.

7. **ANY OTHER BUSINESS THAT THE CHAIRMAN CONSIDERS URGENT** There were no urgent items.

The meeting closed at 3.15 pm

Chairman

Contact Officer: Alistair MacLellan tel. no.: 020 7332 1416 alistair.maclellan@cityoflondon.gov.uk